Loma Prieta – Love b/w Trilogy 0 (Debris)

a2182899050_10

listen

I didn’t pay much attention to hardcore punk back in 2012. Maybe I was too busy trying to get into indie rock in an attempt to figure out whether my taste is compatible with the pitchfork crowd or maybe I just thought Converge’s All We Love We Leave Behind was all the hardcore punk I’d ever need in a very long time. But now I know that I should have, because then I would’ve discovered Loma Prieta’s I.V. sooner and my anticipation for their next record, Self Portrait, would’ve reached a level where all pessimism has turned into hopeful anxiety. Speaking about anxiety, the kind you’ll feel when you’re listening to the two tracks that have been released off Self Portrait is far from hopeful. And like you don’t expect it already, Loma Prieta are intent on keeping it that way.

Self Portrait releases worldwide October 2nd.